Example at O2 Academy Brixton

Friday night – time to behave like kids again!

And with that in mind I made my way down to the O2 Academy Brixton to see Example!

The mere thought of going to that gig had me on the edge the entire day. Not that this was my first time seeing Example in concert – hell no – this was in fact, my fourth time in 2014. I just couldn’t wait to get my dancing shoes on and rave the night away.

Once I met up with my friends and arrived at the venue we went straight for the bar – as you do. Feed Me and DJ Wire were getting the crowd worked up, blasting out recent dance bangers.

At 9:15pm the Brixton O2 Academy went dark and it was time to go bonkers. It was time for Example. He kicked things of with ‘Stay Awake’, surely every single person in this venue was going to be up until the early morning hours, dancing the night away. Followed by ‘Say Nothing’ and the wonderful ‘Watch The Sun Come Up’. What an impressive way to start a Friday night.

Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Kids Again Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Kickstart

The place was hyped, in the desperate need to release some energy. Cue for ‘All The Wrong Places’, encouraged by Example himself, proclaiming that he wants to see some mosh pits, the crowd happily obliged. Things got pretty messy as the first sounds of the dubstep heavy song ‘Perfect Replacement’ started. People absolutely lost it. There was some proper dancing and in general just everyone going bonkers.

The set was brilliant and no doubt the crowd loved every second of it. As far as I can tell, everyone around me was having the time of their lives.

Half way through the set Example asked if Brixton was ready for some old stuff. Of course we were. What a treat to hear ‘Dirty Face’ and ‘Hooligans’ live. Oldies but – without doubt – Goldie’s! The O2 Academy went rather lunatic at this point. This was the point of no return.

Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Changed The Way You Kissed Me Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Hooligans

Half way through the set Example asked if Brixton was ready for some old stuff. Of course we were. What a treat to hear ‘Dirty Face’ and ‘Hooligans’ live. Oldies but – without doubt – Goldie’s! The O2 Academy went rather lunatic at this point. This was the point of no return.

I tried to take everything in, the wicked tunes, the people, meanwhile trying not to fall over while desperately trying to follow my graceful dance routine.

No chance, I just gave myself to the crowd, floating around happily with my friends next to me. Bouncing up and down and just enjoying the show!

Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving 10000 people 10 million Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving We'll Be Coming Back

Next thing I knew, Example getting really quiet and even sitting down to sing his recent single ’10,000 People’. What a moment. So many girls on shoulders, overlooking a sea of waving hands. Such a beautiful sight.

Time went by way to quickly and suddenly it was already time for the finale. Example wrapped things up with one of my favourite songs ‘Natural Disaster’ needless to say I gave my everything and danced my socks of, followed by the amazing ‘Changed The way You Kissed Me’.

Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Playing In The Shadows Example O2 Academy Brixton 2014 London LifeLiveLiving Stay With Me One More Day

Obviously the crowd went lunatic one last time, screaming the lyrics towards the stage, bouncing up and down while trying to hold on to mates. Trying to keep this sacred moment alive for as long as possible.

However, we all realised things are over for a long time now as the confetti canons went off and Example talked to the crowd one last time, saying his goodbyes to go off to Australia do become a daddy and letting the fans know that this was probably one of his favourite gigs ever.

All the best for you and your little family Elliot – I’m sure you’ll be coming back for us one day 😉

Mels Jukebox

Leave a Reply

